Church Leadership

Pastors (Teaching Elders)

Dr. Jim Miller

Senior Pastor

Rev. Dan Hutchinson

Senior Associate Pastor

Rev. Wambugu Gachungi

Associate Pastor

Rev. James Estes

Associate Pastor

Rev. Wally Johnson

Parish Associate

Session (Ruling Elders)

The Session is made up of elders elected to service by the congregation of First Presbyterian Church. All have a vote in matters of Church government. The pastor serves as moderator of the Session, the main responsibility of which is the governing of the congregation and guiding its witness to the sovereign activity of God in the world, so that the congregation remains a community of faith, hope, love, and witness. Ten new members are nominated and elected by the congregation each year to serve three-year terms.

Class of 2022

  • Dr. Jim Bailey
  • Shannon Bair
  • Cam Campbell
  • Joel Donohue
  • Adam Doverspike
  • Dr. Patrick Grogan
  • Karla Kerby
  • Cathy Laird
  • Dru McQueen
  • Katie Williams

Class of 2023

  • Maxwell Asare
  • Dacia Bird
  • Janine Burlin
  • Debbie Favell
  • Rusty Gaddy
  • Patrick Kirunda
  • Elisa Mangesho
  • Anne McCoy
  • Amy Russell
  • Jim Sheiper

Class of 2024

  • Laurel Baird
  • Allison Biggs
  • Mark Brown
  • Larry Ewing
  • Stephanie Madsen
  • Urbanas Masaku
  • Steve Metcalf
  • Paul Mungai
  • Denise Rounds
  • Karen Woolman


First Church calls 10 members every year to serve on a 30-member Board of Deacons. These individuals are called and ordained to ministries of care and compassion. They visit the homebound, coordinate funeral receptions, and deliver flowers to those hospitalized. They also extend the love of Jesus to community members in need of compassion, including the students of Emerson Elementary School and children with cancer.

Ten new members are nominated and elected by the congregation each year to serve three-year terms.

Class of 2022

  • Jackie Allison
  • Cheryl Arthur
  • James M. Inhofe ll
  • Julie Kelly
  • Becca Kibui
  • Steve Krohn
  • John McCormack
  • David Raybourn
  • Carol Rowland
  • Adam Smith

Class of 2023

  • Sheri Allen
  • Keith Campbell
  • Michael Homan
  • Cindy Johnson
  • Lucy Kamande
  • Clint McQueen
  • Dylan Seibert
  • Ed Slier
  • Julie Steiner
  • Shannon Thomas

Class of 2024

  • Tina Aruna
  • Sandy Curtis
  • Bette Cromer
  • Quentin Franklin
  • Carter Mathews
  • Valentine Ndunga
  • Buddy Neal
  • Dan Richmond
  • Grace Shelton
  • Scott Swanson


The Trustees manage the First Presbyterian Church Foundation funds that allow for long-range planning, scholarships, ministerial needs and operational expenses.

Class of 2022

  • Holbrook Lawson
  • Michael Neal
  • Jason Pugh

Class of 2023

  • Bob Pielsticker
  • Todd Schuster
  • Amy Tingleaf

Class of 2024

  • Jane Crain
  • Pam Farris
  • Steve Caldwell