“Each person is given something to do, that shows who God is. Everyone gets in on it, everyone benefits.” 1 Corinthians 12:8

First Church calls 10 members every year to serve on a 30-member Board of Deacons. These individuals are called and ordained to ministries of care and compassion. They visit the homebound, coordinate funeral receptions, and deliver flowers to those hospitalized. They also extend the love of Jesus to community members in need of compassion, including the students of Emerson Elementary School and children with cancer.  For more information on the Deacons and their related ministries, contact Dionna Schooley at 918-301-1029.


Ten new members are nominated and elected by the congregation each year to serve three-year terms.

Class of 2019

  • Kirt Bankston
  • Laurie Brumbaugh
  • Wauhilla Diggs
  • Debbie Favell
  • Bill Huffman
  • Randy Madsen
  • David Neal
  • Katie Russell
  • Debbie Spellman
  • David Tomassi


Class of 2020

  • Judy Brill
  • Carol Elrod
  • Bob Farris
  • Ted Jacobs
  • Glenn Leslie
  • Urbanus Masaku
  • Denise Rounds
  • Dr. Scott Shepherd
  • Kelly V. Spencer
  • Kathy Winslow

Class of 2021

  • Elizabeth DeVore
  • B.J. Dollahon
  • Pam Hillis
  • Joe Land
  • Ryan McCracken
  • David Osterholt
  • Lindsay Patterson
  • Andrea Smith
  • Katy Swan
  • Spurgeon Wambugu